Joanna Ploeger Memorial Essay Award

Established in 2007 in honor of the late ARSTM past President Joanna Ploeger, this award recognizes the top student papers submitted to ARSTM @ NCA in a given year.

Each year the award recipient’s work will be featured on the ARSTM top papers panel at NCA. Award recipients also receive a plaque and are recognized at the ARSTM business meeting.


Amanda Friz
Department of Communication Arts, University of Wisconsin–Madison

Past Recipients


Brendon Bankey
University of Kansas

CV Vitolo-Haddad
Wake Forest University


Jonathan Brennen
University of North Carolina

Chris Ingraham
University of Colorado, Boulder


Kenneth C. Walker
English Department at the University of Arizona


Jennifer Malkowski
Department of Communication at UC Boulder

William McClain
Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism at USC


David Morris
Communication Studies at University of Iowa


Daniel Sutko
Communication, Rhetoric, and Digital Media at North Carolina State University


Zara Mirmalek
Departments of Communication and Science Studies at UC San Diego


© 2015 ARST All rights reserved